Recipe: Spice Bread

Most people will just use simple flour and some mild spices that are pre-packaged. I wanted to take the time to share a little tid bit with you. Depending on the spices you add, you can get many different flavors and have a wonderful variety of breads to munch on.

My personal favorite is a delicious pumpkin bread. (You can even add chocolate bites to make it even better!)

Start by heating up an oven to 350 degrees F, and grease 2 9x5x3 inch loaf pans.

Now you want to start with the dry ingredients when you’re backing most things, this bread is no different. So first you mix these ingredients together:

2 Cups all purpose Flour
1/2 teaspoon salt (You can experiment with different types of salt. I’m rather fond of sea salt.)
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1 teaspoon of baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cloves
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

In a separate bowl cream together these ingredients:

1 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup sugar
3/4 cup softened butter or 2/3 cup shortening

It may look a little crumbly, and that’s okay because it won’t be smooth until the rest of the ingredients are added. Now one at a time, mixing thoroughly for each, add:

2 eggs

Now it’s time to add my favorite part! Add the pumpkin and beat it in until thoroughly mixed.

1 can of pumpkin (or the equivelent amount in freshly boiled pumpkin. I prefer the fresh instead of canned.)
1/4 cup milk

Finally, add the dry ingredients and slowly beat them together until it’s all combined.

Okay, so this one is really my favorite ingredient…

chocolate chips!

Fold in the number of chocolate chips you feel is a good amount.

Now that the batter is all done, turn it into the pans and bake for 55-60 minutes. Let it cool for 10 minutes before removing from the pan to cool the rest of the way.

It’s best to wrap it and store it for a night before slicing it, but sometimes I can’t resist that freshly baked warm bread and cut into it early.

Other spice suggestions to add (So experiment and have fun!): allspice, honey, molasses, vanilla.

Now I’ve heard of a dwarven (Irish) whiskey that makes a fantastic glaze to go on top of spiced bread, but I’ve never tried it myself.

 

Author’s Note: This is a recipe that can actually be made, and isn’t made up just for the story. I really do love adding chocolate chips to my pumpkin bread. xD I also really do tend to play around with the ingredients, and hardly ever use the same recipe twice. But the one I’ve listed is my favorite because it’s like pumpkin pie in bread form. Just. So. Good.

Leave a comment